Apulia in Pills

The name of the roman Apulia (the territory was rather different from the present one) is derived from the Apuli people, who probably reached its coasts from the other side of the Adriatic Sea. The word “Puglia” disappeared for some time in the administrative field; after the unification of Italy the region took the name “Puglie” and it was only with the 1921 census that the singular form was officially adopted.

The region, which has its own geographic homogeneity, can be compared to a wide platform which leans out towards the East. Apulia is a long flat strip of land at the south-east end of Italy which, besides its natural boundaries marked by the seas, breaks from the Adriatic coast with its rocky promontory, the Gargano.

Area: 19,357 Km2
Population: 4,031,885
Density: 208/ Km2

Provincial capital: Bari (315,100 inhabitants)
Chief cities: Andria (96,300 inhabitants), Barletta (92,400 inhabitants), Brindisi (88,500 inhabitants), Foggia (155,000 inhabitants), Lecce (83,900 inhabitants), Taranto (200,400 inhabitants), Trani (53,300 inhabitants).
Boundaries: Apulia borders the Adriatic Sea in the east, the Ionian Sea to the south, Molise to the north, Basilicata and Campania to the west.
Apulia is one of the largest and most populated regions of Italy.

Chief mountains: Mount Cornacchia, 1152 m
Chief rivers: Ofanto, 134 Km; Cervaro, 107 Km; Fortore, 86 Km; Carapelle, 85 Km
Chief lakes: Varano Lake, 60,5 Km2; Lesina Lake, 51,5 Km2
Chief islands: Tremiti Islands, 3,06 Km2
The Tremiti Islands archipelago, which is part of the Foggia province, administratively depends on Apulia.